awaken   reiki    healing jewelry                          802.496.7526
Your Subtitle text

                                                     what is a chakra? 

 "Chakra" is a sanskrit word which literally  translates to mean "wheel".  To one who is clairvoyant,  chakras appear as "wheels" of various colored  light. Chakras are spinning vortexes of energy  located in our etheric body (or energy field closest to the physical body). There are  many chakras throughout our being.  The seven  main chakras are aligned from our root (or base)  to our crown (top of the head).  Each chakra  vibrates or spins at its own frequency.  As you move upward through the seven main chakras the vibrational frequency increases - the first or root  chakra vibrating at the lowest and the seventh or crown chakra at the highest.

 The etheric body is an energy body of very fine  vibration that totally surounds the physical body.  The etheric body absorbs finer levels of energy  from the universe, and transforms this energy  through the chakras into the physical body via the endocrine glands.  The endocrine  system controls the hormone balance in the body, which has a powerful effect on a person's moods and emotions as well as their physical well being.

 Each chakra "governs" a specific area of the physical body as well as specific thought  patterns and emotions.  Our entire being - physical, mental, emotional and spiritual - wants  to be in perfect health, balance and peace. If our life force energy is low or out of balance  we are more susceptible to dis-ease or stress. Through different types of energy work  (yoga, reiki, crystals & gemstones, pranayama, etc.) one's life force energy is increased and balanced within the chakras promoting health and over all well being.
 Below you will find a guide to each of the seven main chakras.

  first, root or base chakra
 COLOR:  red
 ELEMENT:  earth
 CRYSTAL/GEMSTONE:  garnet, red agate, ruby, poppy jasper
 LOCATION:  base of spine, perineum
AREAS OF BODY GOVERNED:  adrenal glands, prostrate, spinal column,  colon, intestines, anus, bones, teeth, nails
 EMOTIONAL & MENTAL ASPECTS:  survival, security, grounding, manifestation, physical  vitality,  connection to earth & nature
 SANSKRIT:  muladhara
 TRANSLATION:  support
 SOUND:  lam

 second or sacral chakra
 COLOR:  orange
 ELEMENT:  water
 CRYSTAL/GEMSTONE:  carnelian, moonstone, red aventurine
 location:  lower abdomen

AREAS OF BODY GOVERNED:  reproductive system, bladder, kidney,  spleen, liver, all body  fluids
 EMOTIONAL & MENTAL ASPECTS: change, pleasure, sexuality, creativity
 SANSKRIT:  svadhisthana
 TRANSLATION:  one's own abode
 SOUND:  vam

 third or solar plexus chakra
 COLOR:  yellow
 ELEMENT:  fire
 CRYSTAL/GEMSTONE:  citrine, amber, yellow jade
 LOCATION:  below sternum, above naval
AREAS OF BODY GOVERNED:  digestive system, spleen, stomach,  gallbladder,
 liver,  pancreas
 EMOTIONAL & MENTAL ASPECTS:  identity, ego, will, personal power
 SANSKRIT:  manipura
 TRANSLATION:  jewel of the naval
 SOUND:  ram

 fourth or heart chakra
 COLOR:  green, pink
 ELEMENT:  air
 CRYSTAL/GEMSTONE:  peridot, green jade, emerald, copper jasper,
 rose quartz, tourmaline
 LOCATION:  center of chest
 AREAS OF BODY GOVERNED:  heart, thymus, lungs, circulatory & immune  systems, blood,  upper back, shoulders, rib cage, arms, hands
 EMOTIONAL & MENTAL ASPECTS:  love, faith, devotion, balance, compassion, healing  by  acceptance & forgiveness
 SANSKRIT:  anahata
 TRANSLATION:  unstruck sound
 SOUND:   yam

 fifth or throat chakra
 COLOR:  turquoise, sky blue, silver
 ELEMENT:  ether
 CRYSTAL/GEMSTONE:  turquoise, amazonite, blue lace agate, aquamarine
 LOCATION:  throat area
 AREAS OF BODY GOVERNED:  thyroid, parathyroid, vocal chords, respiratory  system, bronchial,  jaw, mouth, neck, shoulders
 EMOTIONAL:  communication, expression of True Self and emotion  through creativity,  knowledge, sound
 SANSKRIT:  vishuddha
 SOUND:   ham

 sixth or third eye chakra
 COLOR:  indigo, deep blue
 ELEMENT:  all elements in pure essence
 CRYSTAL/GEMSTONE:  lapis lazuli, sodalite, opal, iolite
 LOCATION:  point between eyebrows
AREAS OF BODY GOVERNED:  pituitary gland, nervous system, cerebellum,  left  eye, nose, 
sinus, ears
 EMOTIONAL & MENTAL ASPECTS:  intuition, clairvoyance, soul realization, connects right  & left  hemispheres of brain - insight & intelligence
 SANSKRIT:  ajna
 TRANSLATION:  know, command
 SOUND:  aum, om

 seventh or crown chakra
 COLOR:  violet, white, clear
 ELEMENT:  thought
 CRYSTAL/GEMSTONE:  amethyst, crystal quartz
 LOCATION:  top and center of head
AREAS OF BODY GOVERNED:  pineal gland, cerebral cortex, 
 upper brain,  right eye
 EMOTIONAL & MENTAL ASPECTS:  connection to Spirit, Divine, Universal Wisdom
 Integration of all chakras, overcome self-limitations
 SANSKRIT:  sahasrara
 TRANSLATION:  thousand petaled
 SOUND:  ngngng (as in sing)
Website Builder